My Best Year Ever

Okay, so here it comes, not only another depressing yearly writing from me but also probably another year of depressing stuff. Like my favourite worst dressed philosopher, publicly known as Drake, captioned in his masterpiece of an Instagram post, “Whatever you told me in 2020 you have to tell me again.” However, I don’t want this piece or article or whatever it is to be depressing. I also for sure don’t want to be going on to say corny stuff of being our best version, but I still do have a corny theme in mind. A corny theme that is what I have more and more thought upon recently, and well I do not need further explanation because I write whatever I want but I also think that if people also did think about it a bit more, the world would be a better place for all the living and nonliving. Okay, so kids, this year will be about acceptance.

Starting off the year with an unbelievable event of one of the most important people in the world rejecting electoral results, talking about acceptance sounds ironic. On the other hand, this also may be showing a need. For clarification I am not being political here; I just hope the best for world peace, but as an ESADE student, it is my job to provide supply to the demand and the USA now sets a great example for controversy regarding the concept of acceptance. Besides writing about the past year, I have also written about how I don’t know what to feel about “ambition” here before, and well,  this time it is a combination of both, the contradict of ambition in a sense, and hopefully an opposite of a year like 2020. 

So okay, let’s start with the New Year’s. Each time the world revolves around the sun, we wake up that morning with goals in our minds that we know we should be doing in the upcoming year to be better versions of ourselves. The most common ones are: going to the gym, quit smoking and with the social media age now we have some other stuff like being grateful with praying hands emojis and saying kind things to other people. We all want to be like the Instagram models posting every day how every single one of us is beautiful while creating the biggest content for social beauty standards that make everyone else feel awful. Nevertheless, the last day of the year usually ends with getting wasted if you are one of the lucky ones, and after the clock hits midnight we all suddenly become a better version of ourselves. We all know we will have our best year ever, and everything is going to go super great. Although the numbers are beyond horrible, we do not exactly need data to know that most of us fail our goals in the first few weeks. The result is an insecure group of people, that is well nearly the whole of society, failing yet another promise they made to themselves, which results in being even more insecure, hence becoming even more of a source of toxicity to other people. I can be one of the people who your hating personality may affect, so I wanted to worthlessly remind you that you should accept more.

Start with yourself. Start from your body, the heart inside it, and go on to your big brain and your filthy thoughts. Know that you don’t have to prove anyone anything, and no one even gives a single thought about you anyway. People who truly love you, love you for who you are, and also would be better off if you would just chill. You didn’t hear it from me but they say the liver does a good job of handling what the heart cannot. My purpose here is not to take you away from your healthy lifestyle hopes and advise drinking instead, it is to tell you that instead of trying to do what you think you need to, you should rather clear your mind about what and why you exactly want, and work towards things that really do matter for you and you only. 

“He who has a ‘why’ to live can bear almost any ‘how’.” 

Nietzsche

When you are accepting of yourself, you also accept people more. You usually see how little you are, and hopefully, cleanse off your hate towards anyone. I started this year by reading Marcus Aurelius’s Meditations, in which the Roman Emperor noted to himself about the stoic way of life, that is what I would say a form of calmly living in accordance to nature. He wrote about accepting merely the moment you have, and although I am still digesting what I have read, if you are reading this thing until here I love you and you deserve much more than my artistic skills and you should opt for Marcus Aurelius’s Meditations instead. As another text where I spent most of the page explaining why I am about to explain what I will explain and finished off with just explaining the tip of what I was about to explain, I hope this year will be not your “best” year to come, but a year where you feel the best about yourself and surroundings.

Happy new year everyone!

Leave a comment