Fitness is your passion? Mine is sleep

Fitness; its a word that has several connotations to it. Most people associate it with physical wellbeing; meaning with sports and with a good diet. I myself typically connect it with those two-
the first of the two, rather than the latter. In the scientific community fitness is adherent to reproductive success and to an organisms ability to adapt effectively into its environment.

Recently however, I’ve been getting an ad on
YouTube that has opened my eyes to an aspect of
fitness that is often overlooked. The ad is for a
Masterclass about sleep. The host of the class
dubs it ‘the elixir of life’. In the two minute ad he
explains that we are a sleep deprived society,
something Spaniards, at least those of us who
take our siestas, would beg to differ. Regardless,
he is right. Stimulants like coffee, have been very
much normalised, with some people having more
than 6 cups a day. This then has an effect on our
productivity, health and mental wellbeing which
collectively summed up, results in a questionable
fitness standard.

In high school I was very much into sports and continue to be. I swam three times a week and
played football another three. Two days of the week I had swimming and football practice one
after the other, resulting in 5h of prolonged intense physical activity. Once I got home after these
exhausting ordeals, my body shut itself down. I would sleep up to 9 hours on those week days, as
opposed to my regular 7h.

Young adults (like us ESADE students) should aim for a range of 7h-9h. I typically average
6.5h-7h. However, now with COVID-19 and restrictions we should really try to gain on this lost
sleep. Its no secret the most productive people are those that sleep this amount, but more
importantly sleep this amount regularly. Sleep is rejuvenating, sleep is tranquil, sleeping is
fundamental and most importantly, we all enjoy it. When we were 8 years old, we despised it, but
now any opportunity given to us to sleep in we take without any form of hesitation. So, I urge you
to try to change your sleeping habits. I’m convinced that once you take a sip out of this elixir, you
will not want to go back.

Nonetheless, the dietary and athletic aspects of
fitness are still largely important. But they are not
the base upon which a healthy life is pillared.
Rather, they serve as an addendum. The food
pyramid sets out a guideline to what we must eat. A
recommend amount of weekly physical activity not
only serves to boost our image and obtain the body
we like and feel comfortable in, but releases
endorphins, causing a sensation of pleasure and
simultaneous relief.

Whilst the diet is typically more difficult to control, it is the most effective method to obtain a body and an image you want. Regardless, finding a sport you love is personally more rewarding and undeniably
more entertaining. I’ve tried so many sports, but one thing I’ve always avoided has been the gym.
I’d very much rather find myself a sport that is more entertaining. If you’re looking for an intense
sport but that has multiple long-term health benefits aquatic sports are the way. Swimming or
rowing builds muscle, strengthens the back, helps in correcting posture and is one of the most
rewarding sports post-workout you’ll ever do.

BY NICO GAMEZ PINEDA

Leave a comment